Tourist Attractions per Theme

Heritage East Nine Royal Tombs [UNESCO World Heritage]


East Nine Royal Tombs [UNESCO World Heritage]1
East Nine Royal Tombs [UNESCO World Heritage]2
East Nine Royal Tombs [UNESCO World Heritage]3
  • Location


  • Address

    66-1, Inchang-dong, Guri-si

  • TEL


East Nine Royal Tombs house nine of 40 royal mausoleums of the Joseon Dynasty registered on the UNESCO World Heritage list. Located in Inchang-dong (Guri), East Nine Royal Tombs areon a site deemed the "Propitious Land Given by God" according to a Chinese envoy. After King Taejo (Yi Seong-gye) passed away in 1408, many sites in Wonpyeong, Bongseong, or Haengju were considered for a burial site, and this place was eventually chosen. Among East Nine Royal Tombs is Geonwolleung, the mausoleum for King Taejo, which was the large project involving over 6,000 workers. When he was alive, King Taejo wanted to be buried with Queen Sindeok, so he designated his burial site to be Jeongneung (the burial site for Queen Sindeok). But King Taejong, who succeeded his father, King Taejo, did not follow the wish and designated different burial sites for King Taejo and Queen Sindeok. Aside from Geonwolleung, East Nine Royal Tombs also include Hyeolleung (King Munjong, 5th king of Joseon), Queen Hyeondeok, Mongneung (King Seonjo, 14th king of Joseon), Queen Uiin, Queen Inmok, Sungneung (King Hyeonjong, 18th king of Joseon), Queen Myeongseong, Hwireung (Queen Jangnyeol, the second wife of King Injo, 16th king of Joseon), Hyereung (Queen Danui, wife of King Gyeongjong, 20th king of Joseon), Wolleung (King Yeongjo, 21st king of Joseon), Queen Jeongsun, Gyeongneung (King Heonjong, 24th king of Joseon), Queen Hyohyeon, Queen Hyojeong, and Sureung (Prince Ikjong, the Crown Prince of King Sunjo, and Princess Sinjeong).