Tourist Attractions per Theme

Heritage Bongguksa Temple


Bongguksa Temple1
Bongguksa Temple2
  • Location


  • Address

    79, Daepyeong-ro, Sujeong-gu, Seongnam-si

  • TEL


Located on the southwestern outskirts of Yeongjangsan Mountain, it is a branch temple under the Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism. Created by Monk Beophyeon in 1028 A.D. (19th year of King Hyeonjong’s reign of the Goryeo Period), the temple was later abandoned and rebuilt by Monk Damhwa in 1395 (4th year of King Taejo’s reign of the Joseon Dynasty). Its initial name was not known, but the temple acquired its current name in 1674 (15th year of King Hyeonjong’s reign of the Joseon Dynasty). To wish for a peaceful afterlife for his two daughters, Princess Myeonghye and Princess Myeongseon, buried on Yeongjangsan Mountain, King Hyeonjong asked Monk Ilchuk (who stayed on Geumgangsan Mountain) to rebuild the temple and bestowed its name to be the Bongguksa Temple. Currently, the temple houses Daegwangmyeongjeon Hall, Samseonggak, Beomjongnu, and two housing buildings. Daegwangmyeongjeon Hall was built in 1674 and was designated as Gyeonggi-do Tangible Cultural Property No.101 on June 2, 1980. Samseonggak and two housing buildings were built by Monk Hyeseong in 1967 and 1969, respectively. A Buddhist sanctuary was dissembled and restored along with adding gilt to the surface of the wooden Buddhist statue in 1974. In 1977, a three-story stone pagoda and stone lantern were added, and a Buddhist sarira from Thailand was also enshrined in the temple. The temple also houses both a memorial tower and stone of Monk Chunseong, the only disciple of Manhae (pen name) Han Yong-un.