Tourist Attractions per Theme

Heritage Sunguijeon Shrine

WriterAdministratorDate11/10/2014

Sunguijeon Shrine1
Sunguijeon Shrine2
Sunguijeon Shrine3
  • Location

    Yeoncheon

  • Address

    Ami-ri, Misan-myeon, Yeoncheon-si

  • TEL

    +82-31-835-8428

The shrine holds memorial tablets of King Taejo, King Hyeonjong, King Munjong, King Wonjong, and 16 officials of the Goryeo Period. Created in 1397 on the Angamsa Temple site (a temple assigned to managed the tomb of King Taejo of Goryeo), it held ancestral rites for eight kings (King Taejo, King Hyejong, King Seongjong, King Hyeonjong, King Munjong, King Wonjong, King Chungnyeol, and King Gongmin). The name Sunguijeon Shrine was created during the reign of King Munjong. Later, the shrine was assigned to hold ancestral rites for four kings and burn ritual incenses for 16 officials of Goryeo because it was argued that a royal shrine in the Joseon Dynasty holds ancestral rites for only five kings. The initial building was destroyed in 1950 during the Korean War and was restored between 1972 and 1973. The sites hold ancestral rites in spring and fall every year. Located on the outer end of Amisan Mountain, the shrine overlooks the Imjingang River. The shrine reflects many historical episodes. The shrine holds memorial tablets of 16 major officials of Goryeo (Bok Ji-gyeom, Hong Yu, Sin Sung-gyeom, Yu Geum-pil, Bae Hyeon-gyeong, Seo Hui, Gang Gam-chan, Yun Gwan, Kim Bu-sik, Kim Chwi-ryeo, Jo Chung, Kim Bang-gyeong, An U, Yi Bang-sil, Kim Deuk-bae, and Jeong Mong-ju) and performs ancestral rites for them. The shrine was created in 1397 (6th year of King Taejo's reign) on the Angamsa Temple site, holding the memorial tablet of King Taejo. Later, it was rebuilt in 1423 (5th year of King Sejong's reign) and 1452 (2nd year of King Munjong's reign). During the reign of King Munjong, the shrine was assigned to hold 16 memorial tablets of major officials of Goryeo including Bok Ji-gyeom, a major contributor to the founding of Goryeo, and to be managed by descendants of royal families of Goryeo. The name Sunguijeong was also created at that time. The shrine experienced two tragic episodes. One was caused by King Sejong. He believed that it was wrong to hold ancestral rites for eight kings and 16 officials of Goryeo, since the royal shrine of Joseon held ancestral rites for five kings only and the Goryeo Period already ended. As such, he removed the memorial tablets of four kings. The other tragedy occurred during the Korean War. Before the war, the shrine boasted Jeongjeon Hall, Baesincheong, Jeonsacheong, Nammun Gate, Hyeopmun Gate, a storage facility, and Suboksa, but these were destroyed during the war. Beginning in 1972, a series of buildings including Sunguijeong Shrine, Baesincheong, and Jeonsacheong began to be restored. Behind the shrine is a stiff cliff, on which visitors can see the surrounding landscape of the shrine and overlook the Imjingang River.