Tourist Attractions per Theme

Heritage Munheonseowon Confucian Academy

WriterAdministratorDate11/10/2014

Munheonseowon Confucian Academy1
  • Location

    Osan

  • Address

    79-24, Sucheong-ro, Osan-si

  • TEL

    82-31-370-3065

Located in Naesammi-dong (Osan), Munheonseowon Confucian Academy holds portraits of the scholar official of Goryeo, Choi Chung, and his sons, Choi Yu-seon and Choi Yu-gil. It was initially created in Haeju, Hwanghae-do in 1550 (5th year of King Myeongjong's reign) and was rebuilt multiple times until 1945. After the division of the two Koreas, the Haeju Choi clan reestablished the academy in Osan in 1991. The size of the site is 12,213m2, while that of Yeongjeonggak is 89.1m2, and the academy, 330m2. Within the academy is Yeongjeonggak and a two-story building offering instruction functions. Yeongjeonggak holds the portrait of Munheongong Choi Chung in the middle flanked by that of Munhwagong Choi Yu-seon on the right and Munjanggong Choi Yu-gil on the left.Yeongjeonggak has a gambrel roof with three rooms at the front and two rooms on the side. Munheonseowon Confucian Academy, located in Haeju, Hwanghae-do, was the first Confucian academy in Korea. It held ancestral rites for Choi Chung, who was a major scholar in the School of Dongbangseongnihak (School of Neo-Confucianism of the East). It was believed to have been well maintained by provincial governors of Hwanghae-do until 1945 when the division of the two Koreas occurred. The academy is an important cultural property to commemorate Choi Chung. In South Korea, there are two Munheonseowon Confucian Academies. Over 200,000 members of the Haeju Choi clan, regretting that the main academy is still located in Haeju (North Korea), created one in Osan.