Tourist Attractions per Theme

Heritage Cheonggyesa Temple


Cheonggyesa Temple1
Cheonggyesa Temple2
Cheonggyesa Temple3
  • Location


  • Address

    475, Cheonggye-ro, Uiwang-si

  • TEL


Cheonggyesa, a traditional temple in Cheonggye-dong, Uiwang-si, Gyeonggi-do, is designated as Gyeonggi Cultural Hertiage Material No. 6 and is a branch temple of Yongjusa Temple of the Korean Buddhist Jogye Order. It stands on Taebong Hill on the southern part of Cheonggyesan Mountain. records that it was built during the Unified Silla period.  Jo Ingyu, the Buwongun (governor) of Pyeongyang, renovated the temple with private property in 1284 (the 10th year of King Chungryeol’s reign in the Goryeo period). Since then, his descendants have renovated the temple as the memorial temple of his clan. When the temples in the castle city were demolished during the reign of Yeonsangun in the Joseon period and government offices were built, Buddhist temples designated Cheonggyesa as the head temple for the Zen sect. Cheonggyesa temple is famous as the place frequently visited from the late Goryeo period to early Joseon period by the literati seeking to write poetry about a temple. Artifacts at the temple include a stone lantern, part of a stupa, Geukrakbojeon Hall, a belfry, Samseonggak, Sansingak and Sugak made during the Silla period. The copper bell in the temple is designated as Gyeonggi Tangible Cultural Heritage No. 96 and the woodblock as Gyeonggi Tangible Cultural Heritage No. 135. The temple also includes Nokhyangwon, the Mentally Disabled Welfare Center affiliated with Cheonggyesa temple, Seokgasa as the No. 1 Mission Center of Bulguksa temple.  It is said that Cheonggyesa temple was established during the Silla period and renovated in 1284, the 10th year of King Chungryeol’s reign. Cheonggyesa temple is an historic site as the head temple of the Zen sect that replaced Bongeunsa temple when Yeonsangun began to demolish temples throughout the castle city during the Joseon period. The present appearance of Cheonggyesa temple was made through several renovations by head monks beginning in 1955. However, the temple maintains the entire dimensions and arrangements of the temple buildings configured as they were during the Joseon period.