Tourist Attractions per Theme

Heritage Nogangseowon Confucian Academy

WriterAdministratorDate11/03/2015

Nogangseowon Confucian Academy1
Nogangseowon Confucian Academy2
Nogangseowon Confucian Academy3
  • Location

    Uijeongbu

  • Address

    153, Dongil-ro 122beon-gil, Uijeongbu-si

  • TEL

    +82-31-828-2487

Nogangseowon Confucian Academy

Nogangseowon (Gyeonggi-do Monument No. 41) located in Jangam-dong, Uijeongbu-si was established in 1695 to honor the virtuous life and achievements of Bak Tae-bo (1654-1689), a scholar-statesman of Joseon during the reign of King Sukjong (r. 1674-1720). The Confucian academy was originally a shrine named Chungnyeolsa and was bestowed an honorary name plaque by the king two years later. It was upgraded to a Seowon, or a Confucian shrine-academy, under its current name Nogang in 1791 and conferred another royal name plaque. The academy was rebuilt in 1754, becoming one of the 47 shrine-academies that survived the historic decree issued in 1871 ordering the abolishment of private Confucian shrine-academies across the country. The academy was destroyed during the Korean War (1950-1953) and rebuilt in 1969 at the site of Cheongjeolsa, a shrine housing the portrait of Kim Si-seup (1435-1493). The restored institution consisted of three buildings: the main shrine hall, which features a gable roof supported by decorative winged brackets and dragon-head ornament under the central eaves of the front face, and the two dormitories, Dongjae (Eastern Dormitory) and Seojae (Western Dormitory), each of which is a three-kan by one-kan structure (kan being a traditional measuring unit referring to the space between two columns of a building) with a board-floored verandah.